ZFS over iSCSI with PowerStore

amir1986

Nov 17, 2021
Hi everyone,

This is my first post under Proxmox forum.
I am very new with Proxmox and KVM in general, so I am going to ask all my questions and hopefully they are not too dumb!

1- Has anyone managed to get ZFS over iSCSI done to EMC storage lineup? (this case is PowerStore)
2- Experience with multipathing
3- Optimum networking for iSCSI (I am familiar with how to make dynamic pool of NICs and make things working for all networks on VMKernel, but is it possible with PVE?)
4- Does PVE have ability to offload storage related tasks to EMC? things like VAAI and VASA in VMware (I doubt it but I am asking anyway)

Thanks for your help in advance

Hi, welcome to the community.

1 - This is impossible. ZFS over iSCSI is an implementation for very specific technologies. Namely :
a) some server/appliance that runs Linux or FreeBSD
b) It also has ZFS daemon installed with all the management tools
c) It allows SSH'ing into the appliance
d) It runs one of a few supported iSCSI daemons that are specific to Linux/FreeBSD

Your PowerStore does not check any of the above requirements. Nor do you want it necessarily.

2 - Proxmox is an application suite that runs on top of Debian. EMC/Dell support Linux (and Debian specifically) for multipath configuration. Find EMC documentation where they describe best practices for multipath implementation for Linux/Debian.

3 - Multipath hides all the complexity of the network from the Hypervisor in Proxmox case. Use best practices from EMC for the configuration. Proxmox will simply use /dev/mpathX devices for storage access

4 - Proxmox uses KVM as a Hypervisor. The question you should research : does KVM or Debian/Linux client have support for VAAI. I believe the answer is no at first glance.

Ultra low latency all-NVME shared storage for Proxmox - https://www.blockbridge.com/proxmox

Last edited:
Reactions: amir1986

About