ZFS Config with 4 SSDs/4HDDs

Scholledev

Aug 26, 2017
Hey together,

so I'm still somewhat new to the server virtualization environment in general and Proxmox in specific.
I'm currently still in a preliminary testing phase but I would like to define some core aspects of the configuration for production usage.

My use case summarized:
  • A mix of dev machines for testing, debugging and developing (not taxing at all).
  • A setup for Atlassian JIRA together with Bitbucket, Confluence, Bamboo and Fisheye (not so sure about Crowd but we'll see that). For sure the most taxing ones although concurrent user numbers will be really low here.
  • An instance of Redmine with more possible concurrent users although less daily usage to be expected (that's more like a side project in my free time).
  • Some small web services (custom stuff, nothing taxing at all there).
  • A Ghost blog on my own
  • Probably some media storage (tough only pics then, no considerable amount of movies)
The following hardware is available for me:
  • 1x Xeon 2630v4 -10x2,2GHz (second socket available but not used currently)
  • 256GB REG ECC RAM
  • 4x SSDs 1000GB (Consumer Crucial MX300)
  • 4x HDDs 4000GB (2 WD, 2 Toshiba, Enterprise-SATA)
  • There are no empty bays available in the current rack, I'm stuck to the number (although I could exchange the storage theoretically).
The importance of the data/the server is not extraordinarly - means, there's no big enterprise relying on it or something like that. However, reliability is still an important point

No my thought at setting up the filesystem is the following:
  • Have ZFS as a filesystem because the HW is not physically available for me (replacing the HW controller might get difficult due to this in case of failure). And to take advantage of its additional features obviously.
  • RAIDz2 for the OS with the SSDs