[SOLVED] With passthrough of virtual disk to proxmox VM(unraid), what is my strategy for replacing broken drives and testing performance?

max7

Jul 6, 2023
TLDR: I am just starting out!

So I followed this https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Passthrough_Physical_Disk_to_Virtual_Machine_(VM)#Update_Configuration
and attached to a Unraid VM and am able to get an array started within Unraid itself and have tested connectivity through samba share.

1. Within Unraid I don't have any parity drives. So what is my strategy when a drive fails? How would I go about replacing it, in this flow? Trying to understand my blast radius here.
2. What about if i am using an HBA? What would replacement look like?
3. How do I test the performance of the existing setup? The use case is Plex media and gaming/other storage.

In few weeks I have an HBA coming, so i'll test with that as well.

1. Within Unraid I don't have any parity drives. So what is my strategy when a drive fails? How would I go about replacing it, in this flow? Trying to understand my blast radius here.
Once the disk fails your VM won't be able to start any longer. you then need to remove the passthorugh of the failed disk first. And passthrough a healthy new disk.
Within Unraid I don't have any parity drives. So what is my strategy when a drive fails?
Then thats not a very useful storage...I hope you have recent backups of everything that is important to you.

Last edited:
Once the disk fails your VM won't be able to start any longer. you then need to remove the passthorugh of the failed disk first. And passthrough a healthy new disk.

Then thats not a very useful storage...I hope you have recent backups of everything that is important to you.
At this point in my setup i am at early stages so there isn't anything important on the drives, I can wipe any number of times. I just wanted to understand the implications, once I do start getting data on them. But noted on parity drive. I'll look to fill that spot.