Windows Home Server Install

spacefighter

Mar 24, 2011
Hey Guys,

So I am new to Proxmox and was trying to get some guests installed but for some reason I can’t seem to get Windows Home Server 11 RC installed. Iam pretty sure it’s based of server 2008 r2. First try it was a corrupted ISO,re downloaded and now it stops at the hard drive part. That is the part whereit says to verify all discs are loaded and then check the box saying that Iagree that files will be deleted. Next window is an error with a link to viewlogs. Says something about the disk size is too large for a partition(I dont really want to type out the whole messege but if it would let just ask). Am Ijust doing it wrong or does Proxmox not support this?

I installed it as
Image format : Raw
Disk: IDE
Guest: other

Thanks!

@spacefighter

Windows Home Server 2011 (RTM), formally known as codename Vail, does run pretty good on Proxmox 1.7 (Kernel: 2.6.35-1-pve). I do run one instance on my test server and in my opinion it does run even better as itself on the bare metal, with the opportunity to run further virtual machines on the Proxmox VE Server ... :)

But looking at your error, I would say you haven't read any documentation for Windows Home Server at all, whereas your virtual machine does not meet the requirements needed for WHS2011 (RTM).

The target machine does need 1 CPU á 1.4GHz or 2 CPUs á 1.3GHz, 2048MB memory and a HDD not below 160GB, if your virtual machine does not meet all (!) of these requirements, it won't install in any way. And yes, it is a Windows Server 2008 R2 based system.

For the future I would recommend: RTFM.

Regards
fnu

Last edited: