[SOLVED] VM multiple disks: actual vm usage vs. proxmox usage

Jan 15, 2023
Hi there,

I am pretty new to proxmox and just finished setting up a Windows Server 2022 VM.
It is running smoothly but I am noticing some behaviour that I can not explain:

I have two ZFS pools, one ~1TB(Pool1 [local-zfs]) another one ~2TB(Pool2 [rpool_data], created on the Webinterface after installation).
My Windows VM lives on both (300GB Pool1 & 1TB Pool2). Both storages are RAID 2 -> 2x 2.

For the first pool the usage shows 1.95% even though I assigned ~30% of it to my VM.
The "problem" is my second pool - it shows a usage of over 80%.

Can anyone explain why one seems to understand how much the guest OS is actually using, while the other one does not?
I would say that I configured them exactly the same...

VMs Hardware configuration:
1673813868232.png

Disk 1 (the one created at initial installation):
1673813801683.png
1673813821475.png

Disk 2 (the manually created one):
1673813713515.png
1673813754496.png

I would really like to "reclaim" the unused space as this would make backups way easier. After a lot of googeling I just can't find anything. I probably just don't know how to express this exact situation in a googelable format...

Any help is greatly appreciated : )

Last edited:
Thank you for your quick reply! You are probably right :) How might I change this setting? After googeling a little I found that there should be an interface with a box to tick. I only have a ‘details’ button on my ZFS view under the node -> Storage

Hi, sorry for the late answer as I was quite busy. You guys were right, I forgot to set that flag! Is there any way to trim my old VMs disk to reclaim the space? I have already tried to use the disk defrag tool via GUI and PowerShell:
Code:
Optimize-Volume -DriveLetter D -ReTrim
I also ran the following on my host (which seems to just invoke the disk defrag tool):
Code:
qm guest cmd 100 fstrim

Last edited:
As said, the vdisk has to be newly created again.