Veeam Backup and Recovery supports Proxmox as of 28 Aug 2024

Blueloop

Jun 7, 2024
Former VMware converts to Proxmox may be missing Veeam. No longer. Veeam 12.2 supports Proxmox as a first class citizen. There is a "community" edition of Veeam Backup and Recovery which is free as in beer and supports up to 10 VMs. It does still need a Windows box but the database can be Postgresql so no need for MSSQL.

A lot of enterprise VMware (Broadcom) users have been putting off migration to Proxmox waiting for this. I know this because I am one of them and I have been doing scouting duties around Proxmox for a few months now. Quite a lot of my business depends on Veeam. I will be accelerating my customers over and given the software is rather open source, a support contract is an easy sell. Hopefully we all win and I really wont miss caring for vCenter servers 8)

Full Linux support is on the roadmap for Veeam B&R. Postgres is the first bit. There is a Linux agent for bare metal which works for the PVE host itself if you want to do that and it can run in "community" mode.

If you are happy with the Proxmox native backup system and server then stick with it. It is rather nifty and does just work for minimal effort. You now have another choice, which is cool.

I tested the version yesterday.
The backups run slower than with the PBS, but the restore was significantly faster than with the PBS, but I have not yet been able to find out where the performance boost comes from.
There are no application aware backups, as with the PBS. There is no Instamt Restore yet, so the PBS can still score points with the Live Restore. And what bothers me is that I am required to manually add all the nodes of my cluster, even though Veeam recognizes the cluster as such.
If you already have Veeam licenses, you should stick with the product, it makes the switch to Proxmox much easier.

Reactions: GMBauer