[SOLVED] Updating a debian server to proxmox error

Simuman

Aug 27, 2022
Hi everyone,

Sorry for the dumb query and long explanation, but it's really got me stumped. Bit of background as I'm a total newb to linux and have just enough knowledge to be dangerous. I recently at the age of 59 decided it would be fun to ( hasten the loss of hair by pulling it out) tried creating my own home server. As I had an old dev PC laying around I decided to try a few server packages like Truenas Scale and Proxmox which seemed to all go ok on first attempts due to the intuitive installation process. So with success with my endeavours so far, I decided to buy an old HP Prolient 350 G6 server, woe-is-me.

The server was completely blank with a couple of scsi 300GB drives so did tried the usual USB install of Proxmox which promptly failed due to hardware display issues, after many attempts to trying to resolve this I worked out that it would be better to try a bare-metal Debian install first and then upgrade to Proxmox that way as I saw there was a step by guide for this on your site.

Hence the brain torture and hair pulling began as I advised am completely new to Linux and after nutting my way through setting up the Debian Server attempted the process of updating it to Proxmox only to run up against the error I've spent 2 days trying to resolve by head scratching, forum and Youtube searches only to be left here banging my head.

The issue appears that I'm running into an error of version miss-match by the look from the error log below as I'm running Debian 11.4. While stepping through the command lines

echo "deb [arch=amd64] http://download.proxmox.com/debian/pve buster pve-no-subscription" > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/pve-install-repo.list

followed by,

wget http://download.proxmox.com/debian/proxmox-ve-release-6.x.gpg -O /etc/apt/trusted.gpg.d/proxmox-ve-release-6.x.gpg
chmod +r /etc/apt/trusted.gpg.d/proxmox-ve-release-6.x.gpg # optional, if you have a non-default umask