Turning off Private MAC Address for node

exjr_

Jun 15, 2023
Hi there!

I'm fairly new to this Proxmox thing and have read this forum, r/Proxmox and the official documentation, but I can't find an answer this (or maybe I missed it).

I have set up a VM and a couple of CTs on my Proxmox node to which I want to set aside IP reservations so their IPs doesn't change.

When I go to manage this in my router's (Eero) management app, the app reports that the guests are "private devices", which makes it hard for it to monitor the 'devices' and set aside an IP for them. This has resulted in the guests having their IP changed multiple times, breaking any automation and integrations I had already set up for them.

IMG_1273 copy.jpgIMG_1274 copy.jpg

For example, I set up an integration for Adguard Home within Home Assistant, which requires me feeding the IP for Adguard to Home Assistant. After a reboot, Home Assistant complained that it can no longer see the Adguard Home instance I set up as its IP changed.
Screenshot 2023-06-15 at 1.22.59 PM.png

I also checked to see if my host machine has its MAC address but it does not

IMG_1275.PNG

Is there a way to turn off private addresses for guest objects? If so, is there a way to do it at a node-level to prevent any future guest objects from having its address private?

Thanks in advance for the help!

The screenshot you presented compares MAC to a phone number. Lets expand that comparison:
To call you on your phone number it has to be unique across all provider networks. This uniqueness is enforced by globally agreed database. You cant just assign a random phone number to your mobile and expect me to be able to call you.
Large (and small) companies run their internal phone networks (pbx) and have ability to give out a non-public numbers (extensions) that are unique internally, but certainly not globally.