Suggesting a patch for pvecm? (adding qdevice when nodes are odd, but votes are even)

bjodah

Feb 25, 2024
Hi all,

First off: I'm new to proxmox, and I only use this is a "homelab" setting. Proxmox (the software), this forum and it's members is a true gem, so big thanks all around!

I just finished setting up a cluster with 3 nodes, where 2 of the nodes are expected to be on and off intermittently (for energy considerations). I settled on giving the always-on node 2 votes, and the remaining two nodes one vote each. This gives me an even number of votes, which is the reason for why I added a dedicated QDevice (on some surplus low power hardware).

However, I ran into the following problem when I tried to set this up:
1. An odd number of *nodes* requires me to add the `--force` flag: pvecm qdevice setup --force true 172.16.x.y
2. This in turn gives the lms algortihm: https://github.com/proxmox/pve-clus...396b2a9b72a288771d8/src/PVE/CLI/pvecm.pm#L134
3. which in turn omits the "votes:" directive (I think) of the device: https://github.com/proxmox/pve-clus...a288771d8/src/PVE/CLI/pvecm.pm#L233C6-L233C60

so when pvecm tries to restart the corosync-qdevice service on the nodes, this fails since I had previously configured one of the nodes to have a vote larger than one (for which an explicit "votes:" parameter is expected in the device block, as per the error message in the logs of the failed service).

I simply added the missing `votes:` field to quorom.device and scp'ed the patched /etc/corosync/corosync.conf file to the nodes. After this I could edit /etc/pve/corosync.conf to match my updates, and then restart the corosync-qdevice service on all my nodes.

This let me achieve the, albeit unconventional, setup I was looking for:
Code:
Cluster information
-------------------
Name:             kluster
Config Version:   11
Transport:        knet
Secure auth:      on

Quorum information
------------------
Date:             Sun Feb 25 13:51:57 2024