Structuring shared storage

StanM

Mar 5, 2021
My goal is to use shared storage for VMs, including Windows and Ubuntu machines. However, I'm new to storage concepts and haven't been able to make it work. I have a new server running Proxmox 7.4-3. (It is stand-alone at the moment but will eventually be joined to a cluster with two small servers.) I've installed TrueNAS Scale as a VM on the server and created a Zvol in TrueNAS. Storage in TrueNAS is configured as ZFS in raid Z1.

I've added the Zvol to the Proxmox server as iSCSI storage. Pursuant to a post in the forums, I've tried to add an LVM on top of the iSCSI storage, but that fails. I haven't added a LUN in the Zvol in TrueNAS pursuant to a post or video I saw some time back. My questions are: what is the best structure for making the TrueNAS block storage available for VMs in Proxmox? And how can I implement the structure? Should I add a LUN in TrueNAS or in Proxmox? Will VMs recognize a LUN, or do I need to add LVMs on top of the LUN? I prefer to use the GUI but am able to use CLI when needed.

Last edited:
So i understand that, you will have 1 PVE with storage and maybe 2 other ones without storage but all should use the storage from the first node?

I've added the Zvol to the Proxmox server as iSCSI storage.
what exactly does Proxmox see ? i.e. outputs of :
- lsblk
- pvesm status
- cat /etc/pve/storage.cfg

I've tried to add an LVM on top of the iSCSI storage, but that fails.
can you define what exactly you did and what exact error you received?
what is the best structure for making the TrueNAS block storage available for VMs in Proxmox
The whole setup appears to be a home lab. If you just want to set this up and forget it - use NFS. If your goal is to experiment and learn - there are many guides/videos/blogs that walk you through the setup.
Should I add a LUN in TrueNAS or in Proxmox?
connecting iSCSI to PVE is the action of presenting LUN to Proxmox. So you may have already done it?