Storage pool shown as full, but its contents are not big enough (newbie)

cobordism

Apr 11, 2023
Hello all,
I am just getting started with Proxmox and I apologise if I am missing something basic.
I have one 2TB hard drive for high-io operations. I created a storage pool using just this hard drive. I created one VM to use this storage pool - one disc created using lvmthin.

The storage in the VM grew to approx.0.9T and then it crashed with an IO error - the storage pool showed 100% usage.
I managed to mount the disk manually on the host using loopback
Code:
losetup --partscan /dev/loop1 /dev/mypool/vm-100-disk-0
mount /dev/loop1p1 ./temp
but found only 834242 MB used.

This was the volume group.
Code:
  --- Volume group ---
  VG Name               mypool
  System ID             
  Format                lvm2
  Metadata Areas        1
  Metadata Sequence No  7
  VG Access             read/write
  VG Status             resizable
  MAX LV                0
  Cur LV                2
  Open LV               0
  Max PV                0
  Cur PV                1
  Act PV                1
  VG Size               <1.75 TiB
  PE Size               4.00 MiB
  Total PE              457854
  Alloc PE / Size       457726 / <1.75 TiB
  Free  PE / Size       128 / 512.00 MiB
  VG UUID               iddikd-XGg6-9Zun-a0AB-Y1cS-Jflq-Yzhpf8

The only logical volume in the group was vm-100-disk-0.
unfortunately there is no point in digging any further here, because I then proceeded to think
Code:
pvmsm free
would show me the free space on the volume ... #facepalm.
...and yeah, I deleted it.

It's not a big problem yet, luckily. I had only just set this up 2 days ago as a test. However, before I make the same mistakes all over again, where can I learn about how storage works, where can I get good insight into the storage used by my VMs and my disks, without being completely overwhelmed by too much info.