Storage 'local' does not support container directories when creating new containter

arjay

Apr 9, 2020
Hi,

I apologize if bumping this thread.

I am new to proxmox.

I am currently working and using cli to create containter but the problem is I always encountered

storage: storage 'local' does not support container directories

command been used are the following

pct create 100 /var/lib/vz/template/cache/debian-9-turnkey-asp-net-apache_15.1-1_amd64.tar.gz
pct create 100 local:vztmpl/debian-10.0-standard_10.0-1_amd64.tar.gz

Thanks

Hi,

You could either use another storage which can handle CTs a bit better, if you used the official Proxmox VE ISO to install you should have "local-lvm" or "local-zfs" (depending on install mode), check:
pvesm status

To list the available storages and specify it for your CT with the "rootfs" option, for example for creating on a local-lvm storage with 8 GB rootfs volume size do:
pct create 100 local:vztmpl/debian-10.0-standard_10.0-1_amd64.tar.gz --rootfs local-lvm:8

But actually you will probably also want networking and some other settings, so maybe start of adapting:
Bash:
pct create 100 local:vztmpl/debian-10.0-standard_10.0-1_amd64.tar.gz --rootfs local-lvm:8 --cores 2 --net0 name=eth0,bridge=vmbr0,ip=dhcp --unprivileged 1 --password 12345 --features nesting=1

You can also enable Containers for the local storage:
pvesm set local --content backup,images,iso,rootdir,snippets,vztmpl

If you're pretty new to Proxmox VE I recommend using the Webinterface for doing such things, it assists one much more than the CLI.

The documentation may also help for some issues: https://pve.proxmox.com/pve-docs/

Reactions: arjay
Hi,

You could either use another storage which can handle CTs a bit better, if you used the official Proxmox VE ISO to install you should have "local-lvm" or "local-zfs" (depending on install mode), check:
pvesm status