Spice with Windows 10 - Mouse Does Not Work

shadrich

May 8, 2020
I have been using Proxmox for several years, mostly to host VMs that I use to connect to various VPNs without breaking my local desktop networking. I tried using Windows 8 and Windows 10 with Spice several years ago, and it was a total mess at the time. I fell back to Windows 7, which worked great. With Windows 7 being out of mainline support, I decided to try Windows 10 again. It's gotten somewhat better, but I am having issues with my mouse working in one VM over Spice.

I basically followed the directions in the Windows 10 best practices guide, using the latest Virtio drivers, QEMU agent, etc.

Spice connects, and the keyboard works, but the mouse will not work at all in one of my VMs. I've reinstalled Windows 10 numerous times, trying different drivers...changed power settings, updated Proxmox, updated virt-viewer, etc. All without any luck.

I have another VM with pretty much the same setup. Plain Windows 10, followed the best practices guide, and it works as expected.

If I RDP into the "bad" VM, the mouse works. If I use VNC, the mouse works.

Has anyone else run into mouse issues like this with Windows 10 and Spice? Any tips or workarounds?

Versions, being used:

Proxmox: Virtual Environment 6.1-11
Virtio: virtio-win-0.1.173.iso
VirtViewer: 9.0-256
Windows 10, latest patches applied.

Other than this Windows 10 mouse business, I really do like Proxmox and Spice. I'd be using Linux VMs for this if the VPN clients were Linux-compatible. (I have not had these issues with Linux VM desktops + Spice...)

Thanks in advance for any help the community is able to provide.

--Shad

To circle back to this, I *think* I sorted out a workaround for the mouse issue.