Share persistent host-directory to VM

alve89

Apr 9, 2024
Hi all!

I'm new to Proxmox and I try to add a directory from the host (e. g. a directory on the system drive) as shared directory to the (Debian) VM. I want to use this as persistens config directory for Docker containers running inside the VM. If the VM crashes or I need to relaunch a new one, the config files should remain.

By now I added, additionally to the VMs "system" hard disk, an VirtIO Block drive on the local-zfs drive.

Is this even possible? If yes, how?

Many thanks in advance!

Hi,
in order to share contents between host and/or VMs you will have to use a network share such as NFS or Samba on the host.

There has been work on integrating the Plan 9 Filesystem Protocol to share a directory on the host with guest VMs, but this is not available yet, see https://lists.proxmox.com/pipermail/pve-devel/2023-April/056656.html

Hi,
in order to share contents between host and/or VMs you will have to use a network share such as NFS or Samba on the host.

There has been work on integrating the Plan 9 Filesystem Protocol to share a directory on the host with guest VMs, but this is not available yet, see https://lists.proxmox.com/pipermail/pve-devel/2023-April/056656.html
Just to avoid misundertstandings - by now there is no other way to create a NFS share directly on the PVE host to share it with the VMs or CTs? I found some tutorials but they mostly are about installing additional apt-packages. This seems to confirm that there is no implemented functionality within PVE.

If I understood your message wrong I'd appreciate any correction. :)

The writer of this tutorial explicitly remarks that this solution is not for production purposes. It doesn't seem to be the best way, though?

Can't I simply use a VM with OMV or TrueNAS to handle the real SATA-HDDs and provide the NFS shares?

PS: I'd like to share a ZFS-RAID1-system as well as a single (ZFS) disk.

Last edited: