SFF with PVE + OPNsense. Am I overly optimistic about performance?

theUtmost

Jan 23, 2024
Content trigger warning: this post is long
I wanted to include a lot of detail though in the hope that some of it is useful, if your attention span is short then this isn't the thread you're looking for - move along!

I'm a relative newbie to Proxmox VE, I've been dabbling with it less than 1y.
At the start of this year I replaced my ISP router with a single PVE node, and OPNsense VM.
I managed to get that running by following instructions without too many issues, and initially I was very pleased with the results:
getting about ~870-880Mbps down and ~420Mbps up on a plan the ISP advertises as 900Mbps down/450Mbps up.

Sometime in June or July (I really can't recall those months were very busy for me) there was an update for either PVE or OPNsense (or yeah - both) and after that, my throughput speed has tanked.

Having read around on the forums it seems I am not alone, and from some threads "resolved" it seems this might be the new normal?
Upstream kernel to blame blah blah. I'm nowhere near enough of a geek to understand such language, I can usually follow along a simple bash script and largely figure out how it works but much more than that and I'm running everything through chatGPT for explanations.

I'm currently testing some of the OPNsense tunable options for TCP offload and the like, and I have attained a modest improvement.
I'm now getting speeds like ~250-280Mbps down and ~200-240Mbps up.
A shadow of it's former self but still better than the ~100Mbps D/U I saw back in the months starting with J.

What I'd like to understand is - will it be possible to fix this properly on the hardware I have or am I being unreasonably optimistic?