Setting up pfSense VM with trunked port on one NIC interface (Dell R710)?

junior9

Apr 28, 2021
Hi,

I would like to know if my setup below can be configured to work (sorry for my badly drawn schematic).
For the past two weeks I've been struggling to setup pfSense. Every time I turn on the pfSense VM, my connection to Proxmox drops.

My idea is to pass WAN traffic via Vlan 10, filter it with pfSense and connect on the other side with the PCs on Vlan 20. I plan on using pfSense as DHCP (for all Vlans - if possible?)
Management port for the switch and Proxmox should be on Vlan 50. Or worst case scenario, if something fails, connecting to Proxmox will be thru idrac interface.

I must say that I'm pretty new at this and my biggest struggle is to know how bridges work inside linux (and their configuration as well). I ended with creating second bridge, linux vlan, vlan aware brigdes, but nothings works... Every tutorial, forum post gives different solution...

1. Can I separate each Vlan to go to separate bridges (vmbr0 - vlan 10 - eno0 (or eno0.10?), vmbr1 - vlan 20 - eno0 (or eno0.20), vmbr2 - vlan 50 - eno0 or eno0.50) ?
2. Can trunked traffic pass thru brigde? If so, all Vlans should be available to pfSense and configuration should be much easier by using only one brigde.
3. Is Linux Vlan necessary to be created in Proxmox for every Vlan I have?

I know I'm asking too much here, but I'm sure that I'm not the only one with this setup.
If you guys have a conf that works for you, please share it.

PS. I know that it would be easier if I have used those three additional ports, but my current setup is allowing to use only one.

Thanks!

Screen Shot 2021-05-12 at 20.57.15.png

1. Can I separate each Vlan to go to separate bridges (vmbr0 - vlan 10 - eno0 (or eno0.10?), vmbr1 - vlan 20 - eno0 (or eno0.20), vmbr2 - vlan 50 - eno0 or eno0.50) ?
You can but it's not necessary. Just check the box "vlan aware" on your vmbr0 (which contains all the vlans, I guess).