Second / Third Network Device not active..

elytrn

Feb 22, 2017
Hello,
I'm new to Proxmox and i tried to setup my network configuration, but every time i try it, all deviced exclusive the fist one are not active. I guess I have a little mistake at my configuration but I didnt find it.

This is my configuration from /etc/network/interfaces:
picture1.png

I tried the command "ifup eth0 - ifup eth1 - ifup eth2", but at the Proxmox Interface still marked as not active.

Here a Screenshort from my Proxmox Interface:
picture2.png
I host my server ony hetzner, with 3 IP addresses, if im hoving over one IP it show me this (same thing on every IP):
pircure3.png

I can create a seperate MAC for every IP if i need this.
I'm really new to networking at stuff like this (I'm a noob), but I hope anyone can help me with my problem! :)

Last edited:
are these devices connected to an ethernet network ?

do you see them when doing

ip link show up

are these devices connected to an ethernet network ?

do you see them when doing

ip link show up
Hello manu,
first of all thanks for your answer!
I dont know how can I check if they connected to an ethernet network.
I just bought additional IP's from Hetzner.

This is the result if I type "ip link show up":
root@proxmox ~ # ip link show up
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1
link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast master vmbr0 state UP mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
link/ether c8:60:00:df:06:05 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: vmbr0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
link/ether c8:60:00:df:06:05 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
4: vmbr1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
link/ether 76:d3:33:c6:d7:f5 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff