QCOW2 to Proxmox

bingram6

Oct 22, 2020
I am a total noob and currently we have a Scale Environment. Long story short I would like to use ProxMox instead of spending thousands of dollars. When I export the VM image from scale the extension is QCOW2. My question here is how do import this image into ProxMox and be up and running. What steps do I need to take. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
create your VM with a small disk in the GUI (or without a disk with the API/qm create), then use 'qm importdisk' to copy the disk to your desired storage and add it to your VM config.

Reactions: bingram6
VM has been created... that's where I am :)
1 - Create a VM from Gui
2 - In text mode (SSH or Console of Proxmox) run the following command
qm importdisk VMID (100 for example) disk.qcow2 local-lvm (The qcow2 disk has to be INSIDE the Proxmox, either in local storage, a mounted external hard drive, shared storage, etc.)
3 - After importing the disk, access the created VM and there will be an unused disk, double click on it and mount it as SATA (if you have not installed the SCSI driver in the Windows installation process) or SCSI (if it is Linux or Windows with the driver installed), check the discard option and be happy.

1 - Create a VM from Gui
2 - In text mode (SSH or Console of Proxmox) run the following command
qm importdisk VMID (100 for example) disk.qcow2 local-lvm (The qcow2 disk has to be INSIDE the Proxmox, either in local storage, a mounted external hard drive, shared storage, etc.)
3 - After importing the disk, access the created VM and there will be an unused disk, double click on it and mount it as SATA (if you have not installed the SCSI driver in the Windows installation process) or SCSI (if it is Linux or Windows with the driver installed), check the discard option and be happy.
Can I use next available ID in my proxmox to import the qcow2 disk?