Proxmox VE 4.0 beta1 released!

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by martin, Jun 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,464
    Likes Received:
    311
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. sengo

    sengo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    According to the document two_node requires hardware fencing. Are you going to support it with hw fencing?
     
  3. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,464
    Likes Received:
    311
    No, because I consider two node a dangerous option.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. nickgr

    nickgr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello

    Regarding

    http://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/DRBD9

    Are the pve3 network settings right?

    And one question about DRDB

    Suppose we have a 6 node cluster and want them to be in DRDB pairs
    Eg node1 paired to node2, node3 paired to node4 etc

    Which is the right way to do this?

    Follow the procedure described in wiki for every pair of nodes?
     
  5. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,464
    Likes Received:
    311
    The idea in DRBD9 is that you can have more than 2 nodes, so grouping them in pairs is not really required.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Whatever

    Whatever Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    5
    Seems the network configuration for the third node (pve3) in Proxmox DRBD9 wiki isn't correct or just should be skipped
     
    #66 Whatever, Jun 26, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2015
  7. ivensiya

    ivensiya Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Start all VMs not run VMs with Order parametrs. If order clean start all VMs work
     
  8. valiovv

    valiovv New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried LXC with couple of different templates and receiving same error "TASK ERROR: Insecure dependency in unlink while running with -T switch at /usr/share/perl5/PVE/Tools.pm line 187.or " Anybody experiencing same error?
     
  9. valiovv

    valiovv New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Creating LXC and receiving this error: TASK ERROR: Insecure dependency in unlink while running with -T switch at /usr/share/perl5/PVE/Tools.pm line 187.
     
  10. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,464
    Likes Received:
    311
    What template dos you use exactly? I will try to reproduce.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. valiovv

    valiovv New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have used templates from Proxmox web interface mostly turnkey appliances but also CentOS 6. All of them openvz. Do I need to change something inside templates?
     
  12. mir

    mir Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,481
    Likes Received:
    96
    For all I know you cannot use openvz templates for LXC containers.
     
  13. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,464
    Likes Received:
    311
    That should work.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,464
    Likes Received:
    311
    I cannot reproduce that here. Is this a fresh install? What is the output of

    # pveversion -v
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. valiovv

    valiovv New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes this is fresh install
    proxmox-ve: 4.0-3 (running kernel: 3.19.8-1-pve)
    pve-manager: 4.0-16 (running version: 4.0-16/a7dc5694)
    pve-kernel-3.19.8-1-pve: 3.19.8-3
    lvm2: 2.02.116-pve1
    corosync-pve: 2.3.4-2
    libqb0: 0.17.1-3
    pve-cluster: 4.0-13
    qemu-server: 4.0-12
    pve-firmware: 1.1-5
    libpve-common-perl: 4.0-8
    libpve-access-control: 4.0-5
    libpve-storage-perl: 4.0-11
    pve-libspice-server1: 0.12.5-1
    vncterm: 1.2-1
    pve-qemu-kvm: 2.3-5
    pve-container: 0.7-2
    pve-firewall: 2.0-3
    pve-ha-manager: 1.0-4
    ksm-control-daemon: 1.2-1
    glusterfs-client: 3.5.2-2
    lxc-pve: 1.1.2-1
    lxcfs: 0.9-pve1
    cgmanager: 0.37-pve1
     
  16. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,464
    Likes Received:
    311
    What kind of storage do you use? I cannot reproduce, so I need more details.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. valiovv

    valiovv New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using local LVM storage default for Proxmox installation. Initially I installed one Proxmox node. After that I have added other two nodes and created cluster in order to test HA. HA is working perfectly. Then I install ceph cluster on the three nodes. Also is working fine except links for ceph repository for Jessie is wrong. So you cant use pveceph install but apt-get install ceph which installs firefly.
     
  18. valiovv

    valiovv New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also another clue which might be of intrest. Normally I am testing Proxmox on VMware workstation before deploy on physical servers but KVM part is working fine. I have deployed win 7 64 bit without any problem. Only LXC part is giving me trouble.
     
  19. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,564
    Likes Received:
    411
    Ceph is not available yet for Jessie - read the first post from this thread. We expect packages in a few weeks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. tsajuk

    tsajuk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's really great news for me, as I only use the OVZ functionality on my hosts. lxc Linux Containers is definitely the way forward here. I hope all the management functionality will be integrated into Proxmox VE soon.

    However, still having to maintain a full linux for each running application was driving me so crazy that I even considered to swap Proxmox VE for Kubernetes. I didn't do it mainly for two reasons: no virtualization and no hiearchical structuring of dependencies.


    • Which ist the current Proxmox VE positon regarding Docker containers and the correcponding management like Kubernetes?
    • Will there be a native docker container support?
    • Can Kubernetes be run in a lxc container and interact with Proxmox VE?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice