Proxmox VE 2-Node Cluster and Ceph Lab Environment

Daniel-San

Mar 16, 2023
Hello guys out there,

I am new to Proxmox - used to work with a VMWare 2-Node Cluster and VSAN with Core-i7 12th generation, 64 GB RAM, 2,5 Gbit/s NIC for VM traffic, 1x NVME and 2x SSD on each host over 2x10 Gbit/s direct attached HCI network as my lab environment at home.
I know the Proxmox documentation and the recommendations/best practices about Ceph - they are very similar to VMWare VSAN in production environments.
Nevertheless you can run a VMWare 2-node cluster with VSAN and a witness very smoothly for a lab environment.
Has anyone made experience with Proxmox and Ceph and having fun running on a similar a setup?
I am trying to figure out a new hypervisor setup for my home lab environment which is a lot easier to maintain than the VMWare hypervisor lab environment.
The Proxmox and Ceph combination sounds good - if you can run it on 2-nodes and 6 OSD‘s and 2x 10 Gbit/s direct attached dedicated network despite recommendations and best practices.

Best regards,
Daniel

Ceph is not suitable for a two node cluster.

Have a look at DRBD for that setup. Linbit provides a plugin for Proxmox.
Hello, thank you for your hint.
I had a look - with Linbit and DRDB 9 you need at least a diskless DRDB client for a two node cluster that you want to use in primary/primary HA mode with live migration capabilities (in comparison to the VMWare features where a two node cluster is always active/active).
Unlike in DRDB 8 where you had the chance for tweaking the pacemaker and fencing configuration/policies these policies for avoiding split brain are only activated in DRDB 9 with that diskless DRBD client.

If I want to give Proxmox a try in my lab without a third node, I think I have to test the cluster HA with ZFS and replication. Live migration would not be available of course, too.