please delete this post

kemil

Jan 6, 2023
Hi there,

I installed ifupdown2 and now server cannot restart in HD mode, It is in rescue mode and all network configuration is gone.

interfaces and interface.d/ is empty.

How can I revert back the network configuration or please instruct on how to create a configuration file.

Thanks.

Could you please help me find the right configuration? I do not have DHCP, but for other dedicated server if I go to the interfaces file then I see below written configuration, so I tried it like that.

as you can see below no network bridge is connected to any nic. I am new to this networking configuration, so if you can please elaborate which is bridge and which is nic. and how should my config look?

/etc/network/interfaces

# network interfaces
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface bond0 inet manual

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
bridge-ports bond0
bridge-stp off
bridge-fd 0

but server does not reboot. cannot ping nothing. please help.

Last edited:
/etc/network/interfaces

# network interfaces
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface bond0 inet manual

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
bridge-ports bond0
bridge-stp off
bridge-fd 0
That doesn't make much sense. That bond insn't bonging NICs. And that bridge option should belong to a bridge, not a NIC.
but for other dedicated server if I go to the interfaces file then I see below written configuration, so I tried it like that.
What does the /etc/network/interfaces of your other PVE nodes look like? Were they similar configures?

o if you can please elaborate which is bridge and which is nic.
Default bridge is vmbr0. NIC depends on your server. I guess the NICs eth0 or eth1 were used for management and not the two infiniband NICs.

That doesn't make much sense. That bond insn't bonging NICs. And that bridge option should belong to a bridge, not a NIC.
I cannot figure out which one is bridge and which one is nic? what should I write in place of "eth0" and "bond0" ??