[SOLVED] No network connection after install. r8169

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by wille1101, Feb 13, 2019.

Tags:
  1. wille1101

    wille1101 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    After installing Proxmox I can't access it on my network. How would I go about getting a NIC using the r8169 driver working?

    BR
     
  2. Tapio Lehtonen

    Proxmox VE Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    5
  3. wille1101

    wille1101 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does that tutorial not assume you have an internet connection? Can I put the driver on a USB and install it that way?
     
  4. LnxBil

    LnxBil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    3,405
    Likes Received:
    296
    Please post the output of

    Code:
    ip a
    in CODE-Tags
     
  5. wille1101

    wille1101 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, but is a picture ok? Here's the output: sdfsdf.jpg
     
  6. Dark26

    Dark26 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Bonjour,

    On the screen shot you have your network card ( enp2so ) and your bridge interface( vmbr0) with the ip address.

    Are you sure that the network card ( enp2s0) is part on the bridge?

    Sometimes the name of the card can change after kernel update and then the card config is "lost".

    you can do a

    Code:
    brctl show
    and tell us what you have, something like that

    Code:
    bridge name     bridge id               STP enabled     interfaces
    vmbr0             8000.96f2195fc419       no              enp2s0
     
  7. LnxBil

    LnxBil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    3,405
    Likes Received:
    296
    It is shown in the output of ip, so yes.

    Can you ping the machine from your network?
     
  8. wille1101

    wille1101 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    No I can't ping it. I can't ping the network from the Proxmox machine either.
     
  9. Dark26

    Dark26 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Can you do

    Code:
    cat /etc/network/interfaces
    
    to see your network config ?
     
  10. Chris

    Chris Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    Do you have for some reason the firewall enabled and blocking all of your traffic?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. wille1101

    wille1101 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here you go: 19-02-14 19-34-06 0022.jpg
     
  12. wille1101

    wille1101 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, no firewall enabled
     
  13. Dark26

    Dark26 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
  14. wille1101

    wille1101 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, no vlan. Is that something I need to set up?
     
  15. LnxBil

    LnxBil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    3,405
    Likes Received:
    296
    no.

    Can you install tcpdump from an usb medium and capture the traffic that arrives at your PVE box?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice