No network after upgrade to version 8

techopsguy

Oct 20, 2017
Hello guys! I found myself in a tight spot.

Yesterday, my galaxy brain decided that it would be nice to upgrade Proxmox 7 to 8 remotely. I have a VPN set up in my router, and I've been remoting in with no problem for the past 2 years (server is 3000km away). I started playing around like many other times and I found out I was using an outdated version, how do I dare!
So I went to tteck and started with the preparatives, backed up the couple important VMs and all set. After that, I lost connectivity.

I have no idea why, the new system (kernel 6.2) won't boot. It gets stuck right on "Loading Linux 6.2.16-3-pve".(https://forum.proxmox.com/threads/hangs-on-screen-loading-linux6-2-13-pve.129355/ probably related)
So, with the aid of my completely non tech dad, I've managed to at least login into it by using an old kernel (5.13). From there, I said, well if I can start that, I can connect, well I was wrong because apparently the network interfaces won't go up. I've assisted my dad (he actually has assisted me!) spelling every command I can think of, and my network just won't get up.
In the beginning I thought the error was the typical PCI naming and swap of the interfaces name, so I changed that.
ip -a would show enp4s0 and enp5s0 (I have two network cards, motherboard and an extra one) and in fact, in /etc/network/interfaces I had enp5s0 and enp6s0, so I changed that accordingly. Rebooted many times, but the thing is still not up. vmbr0 doesn't show when hitting 'ip a'
I know the interfaces file by heart now, as it's really basic/standard.

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface enp4s0 inet manual
iface enp5s0 inet manual
auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
address 192.168.1.5/24
gateway 192.168.1.1
bridge-ports enp4s0
bridge-stp off
bridge-fd 0