Newbie questions

Blackmyre

Feb 14, 2023
I want to use Proxmox to host a home file server and a few other things, and I'm new to Proxmox. One of my early thoughts was to simply create a directory on the host and for the [Linux] clients to mount it directly from there, either using SSHFS or installing Samba on the host. I got the impression from some forum posts that accessing things on the host directly is bad practice though. I'm not entirely sure I understand why that is (if anyone can point me at an explanation I'd appreciate it) but I'm happy to accept it so I've created a test Container with Turnkey File Server which looks like it should do the job nicely. Now I need to decide on the most appropriate Storage Type, and that's one of the key concepts I'm struggling to understand.

I only have a single data disk in the host (backups will be on a separate machine) and I gather that ZFS would be inappropriate on such a setup. I like the sound of thin provisioning so thought LVM-Thin might be the way to go, but I'm still not really clear about file vs block Storage Types, or why some types only support certain content types. I also think I saw a suggestion somewhere that Directory Storage might be "safer" in the event of some failure scenarios because recovery of data is much easier, not sure whether that's true or not.

So, I'm currently working with a Directory Storage on the host with a bind-mount to the container (and UID/GID tweaked +100,000 to avoid the nobody:nogroup issue). It's working but I wanted to check whether this is an appropriate approach before going too much further. Any thoughts?

I got the impression from some forum posts that accessing things on the host directly is bad practice though. I'm not entirely sure I understand why that is (if anyone can point me at an explanation I'd appreciate it) but I'm happy to accept it so I've created a test Container with Turnkey File Server which looks like it should do the job nicely.