Newbie Install Proxmox RAID-Z1 on different Sized Disks

PitRejection2359

Nov 2, 2020
UK
Hi,

I'm new to Proxmox, ZFS, and Linux so I'm setting up a test rig to play around a bit and see if I like it. I've got 3 different sized spare disks: 320 GB x 2 (different manufacturers) and 500GB that I'd like to use just to play with, ideally in RAID-Z1. I'm happy that I'd only get the equivalent of 3 x 320GB disks space to use in Z1 - this is just for test / play.

However, when installing Proxmox and selecting Z1 with the 3 disks, it won't install as it says all 3 disks need to be the same size. Is there any way to install in Z1 onto the 3 disks from the start? Or if not, is there a way to install on one then "upgrade" to Z1 later (I'm guessing not, seeing as I understand it needs to be set during creation, but worth asking).

Cheers.

I am not sure if it's possible to do what you want with using raw disks without any partitions. If you create a partition with the same size for ZFS on each disk beforehand, maybe it will work?

Eoin

I am not sure if it's possible to do what you want with using raw disks without any partitions. If you create a partition with the same size for ZFS on each disk beforehand, maybe it will work?

Eoin
Thanks Eoin - how do I go about creating those partitions? Do I need to do it in another OS, such as Windows, then re-try the install, or do I need to do it in the Proxmox install boot environment (and if so, how do i do that)?

I believe the installer might have shell or maybe you can use another Linux box to create partition. To create a partition on a disk, you need to know how to use fdisk utility.

Eoin

I believe the installer might have shell or maybe you can use another Linux box to create partition. To create a partition on a disk, you need to know how to use fdisk utility.

Eoin
OK, thanks - I'll see if there are some instructions on how to do this somewhere....!

About