New mini-itx Proxmox Build

Ivan

Oct 3, 2014
Hello everybody,

Recently (disappointed by the hyper-v performance on my not so old pc) I decided that it's time to build a barebone home server and choose Proxmox as my solution. After a vast research my ideas ended with low power, mini-itx home server containing the following:

1. Mobo - Asus Z97M-Plus
  2. CPU - Intel-Xeon-Processor-E3-1231-v3-8M-Cache-3_40-GHz
  3. RAM - Crucial Ballistic Sport - 2x8gb kit
  4. PSU - Corsair CX Series 500 Watt -
  5. Case - Silverstone Tek PS07B
  6. HDD/SSD - Crucial M550 256gb M.2
  7. Most Likely will try to boot from a usb

By todays prices all is roughly 800$, a way more than I am willing to spend, however, I can live with it. My goal is to run 5-6 vm - few windows servers, pfsense firewall, another linux server and few testing hosts, none of them with high load. Since I am new to the proxmoxing if someone is having a better setup/build in mind, please share
it, your opinions are more than welcome, I just don't wont to end with another crappy virtualization server, I already have one :)

After a long discussion my final build (quite different than the initial plan) is:

1. A1SRM-2758F-O Mobo
  2. RAM - KVR16LSE11/8 - 2x8gb kit
  3. PSU - Corsair CX Series 430 Watt
  4. Case - Corsair Air Flow 240
  5. HDD/SSD - Crucial Mx110 256gb.

Performance to be reported later

Last edited:
Re: New Mini-itx Proxmox Build

"16-32gb USB 3.0 to boot from"

Forget about this. USB is to slow on unreliable your money is better spend on some small SSD and the price difference is not that high.

Thank you mir, snowman, USB dumped in favour of one of these two 250gb SSD - Samsung 850 Pro or SanDisk Extreme Pro.
Also I can take two of these Samsung Evo 840 and create raid 1, use part of it for the proxmox and the rest for lets say the most sensitive machine with normal hdd for the vm's, right?
This is the pro way anyway.

BTW, Excellent note