Need storage advice for new setup

flbit

Mar 23, 2021
Hi guys,
I am new to Proxmox, coming from Unraid. I switched mostly because I need to study setting up VMs using packer, terraform, ansible etc ...
to make a long story short, I did some research on the right storage layout for me. I started to learn zfs, barely scratching the surface. Here is my issue:
I do not have ECC ram and I know that it’s very recommended if I want to use zfs. I cannot justified spending for an enterprise server these days.
So, here is what I have for storage:
- 1x120gb ssd (I guess for Proxmox)
- 4x500gb ssd
- 3x10tb hdd
I created a raidz1 pool for the 500gb and another raidz1 pool for the 10tb but now I don’t know if it’s a safe layout for my specs.
Basically I need some advice for the best storage layout I can use considering that I don’t want to lose data due to non ECC ram if I chose ZFS. What are my options if I want to use all my drives without having data corruption down the road ? Thanks

If that are consumer SSDs keep in mind that ZFS might kill them very fast depending on your workload. Here are enterprise grade SSDs recommended too because they much more durable (for example will last 30 times longer). You will get alot of writes because ZFS is a copy on write filesystem and mixed blocksizes and virtualization will cause overhead too. Especially small sync writes if you don't got a good SSD with powerloss protection so your SSDs can't use the internal RAM cache to optimize writes to lower the write amplification.

Also keep in mind to increase the volblocksize of your pools (for example 32K for your 3 HDDs and 64K for your 4 SSDs) or you will loose additional 33% of your capacity due to bad padding. And volblocksize can't be easily changed later because it can only be set at the creation of your VMs virtual disks. And a stripped mirror (raid10) might be a better idea if you want to use your SSDs as a VM storage. With a 4 SSDs as a stripped mirror 8K should be fine.