Multiple Network Interfaces through One physical port

premudeshi99

Dec 9, 2020
Hello,

I am extremely new to proxmox and I have been stuck on this issue for hours. Alot of new people seem to be having this problem, but their solutions tend to be different to what I want. I have also tried reading the networking documentation several times but it just makes my head hurt. :confused:

I have an Ubuntu VM, where I run a bunch of docker containers. I would like to assign each docker container a different network interface, so that it has its own IP address. Ideally I would like to create multiple interfaces through the host.

This is my network config in my host:
Screen Shot 2020-12-09 at 2.01.49 PM.png

Eno3 is the port that I would like to use. vmbr2, vmbr3 are the bridges that I created.

When I boot into ubuntu, vmbr2 connects to the internet where as vmbr3 doesn't, even if I set static IP addresses. I can't ping to vmbr3, neither from the host machine nor another device on the network.

What would be the best way to do what I am trying to do?

Thanks.

Reactions: devtale
I have an Ubuntu VM, where I run a bunch of docker containers. I would like to assign each docker container a different network interface, so that it has its own IP address. Ideally I would like to create multiple interfaces through the host.
If the container run on the same subnet then use a linux bridge inside the VM as well. You may need to handle STP.

When I boot into ubuntu, vmbr2 connects to the internet where as vmbr3 doesn't, even if I set static IP addresses. I can't ping to vmbr3, neither from the host machine nor another device on the network.
vmbr3 has no connection to another interface. The Linux bridge is like a switch and forwards on layer 2, meaning it doesn't care about IPs so much.

Be aware that this will become a very customized solution and will require the understanding of network switching/routing. Best to read up on it. ;)

Reactions: premudeshi99
Ah, I see.