MacOS GPU Passthrough No Output ( HD 7850)

La Matchata

Nov 24, 2020
Hi !

I'm really new to Proxmox and virtualization. After successfully install MacOS on proxmox at my home, i want to try install macos Catalina with Opencore on an old pc. Installation is a success but when i try to passthrough my GPU i've got a blank screen..
I try with Vmware compatible display and when there's the Apple logo loading screen, it stuck and i've got an error and the VM restart..
But when I can log on ( using VMware compatible display) in Graphics/Display tabs ( in system settings) I can see my HD 7850.
I've an Windows VM with GPU passthrough ( same gpu ) working but in this case I don't know why it doesn't work.. Maybe I need to dump my Vbios?

Before using Proxmox i've got a macos VM with Clover running with GPU passthrough on Lubuntu ( same GPU here too )

I don't know if my post is really clear, but i hope you understand.

Thank you for reading me and for your future answers !

Here's my MacOS VM configuration :

args: -device isa-applesmc,osk="ourhardworkbythesewordsguardedpleasedontsteal(c)AppleComputerInc" -smbios type=2 -device usb-kbd,bus=ehci.0,port=2 -cpu host,kvm=on,vendor=GenuineIntel,+kvm\_pv\_unhalt,+kvm\_pv\_eoi,+hypervisor,+invtsc

balloon: 0

bios: ovmf

boot: order=sata0;net0

cores: 8

cpu: Penryn

efidisk0: SSD:vm-101-disk-1,size=1M

hostpci0: 85:00,pcie=1,x-vga=1

machine: q35

memory: 14336

name: CatalinaOpencore

net0: vmxnet3=F2:5D:C9:62:D9:37,bridge=vmbr0,firewall=1

numa: 0

ostype: other

sata0: SSD:vm-101-disk-0,cache=unsafe,discard=on,size=104G,ssd=1

scsihw: virtio-scsi-pci

smbios1: uuid=e1fc4c6c-bb30-42f4-ae7e-65fb23b9e23e

sockets: 1

usb0: host=046d:c52b

vga: none

vmgenid: fd9d899b-e8b7-44e1-9902-e8253888c766

And my PC configuration :

Supermicro X8dah+

Xeon X5687

18GB DDR3

SSD 120GO ( MacOS) HDD 1TB ( 500GB for Windows and the other for MacOS)

About