Lost connectivity after passthrough network interface

maxymo

Sep 27, 2020
I am new to Proxmox, have been using it for few weeks. The problem is that the web UI is not reachable, when using command line I see the network interface eno1 has an IP butI can't ping other devices in the network neither I can ping Proxmox machine from other devices.

I suspect what heppened, but no idea how to fix it without installing everything from scratch so I see it as an opportunity for learn from my mistake.

I recently installed latest version of Proxmox, created a VM and all working fine.

I created a second VM and this time I passthrough a network interface a PCI express in Hardware tab. In the list of PCI express there were 4 network interfaces (my server has 4 interfaces) but I wasn't sure which interface Proxmox was already using (I know it was the first physical interface) so I selected the second one in the list. I was still seeing a warning message when passing through about the IOMMU not enabled (so I did some research and enabled it modifying /etc/default/grub and modify line (GRUB_CMD_LINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet intel_iommu=on") after doing update-grub and restarted the machine, the problem appears.

I suspect I selected the network interface to passthrough that Proxmox was already using. I manage to delete the VM that has the passthrough network interface through the command line using "qm destroy vmid" but even after restarting the machine I still don't have any connectivity.

Any idea what I can do to get connectivity again?

Attached what I have in /etc/network/interfaces and the output of ip a

Attachments

• Screenshot 2020-09-27 at 11.33.11.png
    Screenshot 2020-09-27 at 11.33.11.png
    124.8 KB · Views: 29
Try going into
/etc/pve/qemu-server

Find the VM ID you added passthrough to, edit the .cfg file and remove the line with the passed NIC. You can also backup all the .cfg's to /root/ before doing any changes.

Thenr reboot, see if that helps.

Thanks,