Is it possible to have 2 Virtual Disks and then combine them in Proxmox? Or is there a better solution?

farfy

Apr 3, 2024
I'm looking at upgrading a few of my disks in my Dell R530. Currently, I have 3 x 2TB and then 5 x 4TB. I'll be upgrading 4 drives to 8TB. Currently, in Proxmox, I have 2 LVM Storage groups, 1 6TB, the other 18TB.

If I create 2 separate virtual disks on my Dell raid controller, is it possible in Proxmox to create a new LVM and group the 2 virtual disks as one big one? I'm very new to proxmox, so please be patient with my lack of knowledge!

Is there a better configuration I should be using?

Essentially, what I'm trying to accomplish is to utilize as much storage as I can for my media server (plex/arrs/etc) without having to work with 2 separate pools of storage, so any advice/info would be greatly appreciated!

It's generally not advisable to span an LVM across separate physical disks unless they're running on top of a RAID - mirror or better. If a physical disk dies, you put the whole LVM at risk. Backups are your friend.

Since it sounds like you have space in the server, I would recommend looking into ZFS and run either a mirror pool (RAID10 equivalent) or a 6-disk RAIDZ2.

https://wintelguy.com/zfs-calc.pl

6x8TB RAIDZ2 with slop space and 5% free space limit would give you ~26.6TiB of usable free space before compression.

4x8TB mirror pool would give you ~13.34TiB of usable free space.

ZFS has the advantage of being easier to admin than LVM - you typically give zfs the entire disk (or a partition) and generally don't mess around with resizing unless you're migrating to larger disks.

so, would ZFS be better than LVM? Currently, the storage space is in RAID 5 on the Dell controller (2 separate virtual disks with the physical drives in RAID 5)