How to create private network

pain

Jan 26, 2022
Hi, I want some help with networking in proxmox. I will explain my setup.
I want to create 4 Ubuntu virtual machines in proxmox name (iris, atropos, clotho, lachesis).
I want to make iris a gateway for the rest of my virtual machines (atropos, clotho, lachesis). This mean that it should has access to the internet and it should be in both subsets private & public.
While all other three VMs atropos, clotho and lachesis should be in private network. I want to install tiny proxy in iris and give access to other three virtual machines to the internet through tunnel.
The problem I am facing now is that when I create a vmbridge1 and apply configurations then my proxmox disconnects from the internet don't know why.
Can anyone help me how to create this type of setup with detailed steps as I am a proxmox noob.
Thanks

Is this on a single Proxmox server?

The "private" bridge you create does not need to have a physical ethernet port then.

The first bridge where the Proxmox management IP is assigned to should not be affected by a new bridge interface.

Thanks @gurubert for very fast response.

Is this on a single Proxmox server?
Yes, it is a single Proxmox server.
When I start the Ubuntu installation, it asks me for IPV4 address. I have 2 points here
  1. For the gateway, in both bridges, how to assign the IPs for both public and private. Because there are options automatic, disable, and manual. I want to assign manual IP. There are option subnet, address, gateway, name server, and domain name
  2. I have to assign an ip to the VMs connected to the private bridge because after the installation of Ubuntu I want to ssh into the machines. If I don't assign the IP now then I won't get it.
I hope you can help me.
Thanks