High IO.Delay (15-30%) doing any disk related work on node

Tera-sat

Jun 30, 2024
Hi, I'm new to ProxMox VE, worked professionally with VmWare for many years.
I have a small homelab running on a Dell T320 with a raid 5 array on 7 disks (+ one spare)
ProxMox itself is installed on a samsung SSD, 250gb
Every time I make a snapshot or run a backup I get IO delays in the region of 15-30-40% and everything slows down to a crawl

My old VmWare ESXi 7 ran on the exact same setup and had no problem with IO delay what so ever.....

If ProxMox wan't to be a serious alternative to VmWare, HyperV, and Citrix then you really have to run on same hardware without any problem.....
I really like ProxMox, don't get me wrong but this has to be fixed.....

I have a small homelab running on a Dell T320 with a raid 5 array on 7 disks (+ one spare)
Just to be clear: do you use the same hardware RAID5 controller with Proxmox as ESXi or are you using ZFS RAIDz1 (which tends to surprise people by behaving differently)?
Every time I make a snapshot or run a backup I get IO delays in the region of 15-30-40% and everything slows down to a crawl
Proxmox tends to use a lot of threads for backups, which might cause many of them to wait due to slow write performance and therefore show a high IO delay. This was a problem in the past and I'm not sure how change this setting. I'll might do a search later.

I use the excact same hardware and setup as I did with VmWare.
Perc h310 controller with 8, 3Tb Seagate Constellation disks setup in a raid 5 with one hotspare. ProxMox is installed on a 250Gb Samsung SSD
The raid is configured in PM as a storage pool formated in Ext4 to store disk files

Perc h310 controller with 8, 3Tb Seagate Constellation disks setup in a raid 5 with one hotspare.
Thank you for explaining this and definitely ruling out slowness due to ZFS overhead and write amplification.
The raid is configured in PM as a storage pool formated in Ext4 to store disk files