Help for new configuration

Marco Bandini

Oct 12, 2022
Hi, i'm new to Proxmox and i need some help.

I am trying to create a new configuration on my server and I have done some research but I have some questions left.

The goal is to run 5-6 vms Windows and Linux.
2x DC, DNS, DHCP (WS2019)
1x File Server without Database (WS2019)
1x Game Server like a file server but possibly faster (a linux distro still to choose from)
1x RustDesk server (Ubuntu Server)
1x Unifi Controller (Ubuntu Server)

The hardware i've got are:
X99-TF HUANANZHI (horrible but cheap)
Intel Xeon E5 2678 V3
2x 32GB DDR4 ECC 2666 (4x32GB in the future)
Intel Network Card 4 port Gbit
M5015 RAID Controller No Acceleration Key
2x 1TB Crucial P3Plus (..PCIe 4 nvme in a PCIe 3 slot, purchase made for a future upgrade)
3x 6TB WD Red Pro 7200rpm
2x 256GB Entherprise Sata SSD from SENEK
2x 256GB Samsung 860Pro

I configured the two Senek SSDs in the raid controller in raid1, and installed proxmox on them.
I will go to use this pool also for the vdisks of the os of some vm.

I configured the nics by web interface:
1 integrated port -> for proxmox ve connection
2 porte network card -> for the connection of the dc, unifi and rust servers
2 network card ports -> for connecting storage servers

From the cli I have created a RAID-0 of the two ssd nvme crucial, since I do not need the redundancy for the data that I am going to put there, setting the compression to lr4 and the ashift to 12.
Code:
zpool create -f -o ashift=12 Fast_Storage /dev/nvme0n1p1 /dev/nvme1n1p1
zfs set compression=lz4 Fast_Storage

Now I should create the storage with the 3 6TB disks and I was pleased to somehow use the two samsung ssd. Here I have the first doubt.
I better create a RAIDZ-1 from cli and use 1 ssd as cache.
Code:
zpool create -f -o ashift=? Large_Storage raidz1 <HDD1> <HDD2> <HDD3> cache <SSD1>
Or is it better to create a special device with the 2 SSDs too?
Code: