HE IPv6 tunnel dividing /48 to /64's on Proxmox

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Networking and Firewall' started by Elgs Qian Chen, Oct 31, 2015.

  1. Elgs Qian Chen

    Elgs Qian Chen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm playing with Hurricane Electric's IPv6 tunnelbroker and am running Proxmox with a hardware node and multiple vms. Now I managed to allocate IPv6 addresses from my /64 pool to the vms. Here is how I did it:

    On Hardware Node:
    Code:
    auto he-ipv6
        iface he-ipv6 inet6 v4tunnel
               address 2001:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx::2
               netmask 64
               endpoint endpoint_ipv4
               local local_ipv4
               ttl 255
               gateway 2001:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx::1
    
        iface vmbr0 inet6 static
               address 2001:xxxx:xxxy:xxxx::1
               netmask 64
               gateway 2001:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx::2
    
    On VM:
    Code:
    iface eth0 inet6 static
            address 2001:xxxx:xxxy:xxxx::2
            netmask 64
            gateway 2001:xxxx:xxxy:xxxx::1
    I also requested a /48 for my tunnel. Now if I want to allocate a /64 to each of the vm from my /48 block, should I create a bridge on the hardware node for each /64?
     
  2. Mr.Holmes

    Mr.Holmes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello Elgs Qian Chen



    Do you mean to assign /64 addresses to the existing /48 (virtual) LAN? In this case you can use the same bridge/NICs.

    You can assign as many addresses as you like to one NIC or bridge.

    If you think I have misunderstood something give more details about your request (which VMs / host should get which address (in the form xxxy:xxxx as above) )


    Kind regards

    Mr.Holmes
     
  3. Elgs Qian Chen

    Elgs Qian Chen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply Mr.Holmes.I have a routable /48. I want to assign each of my virtual machines with a /64 from my /48.
     
  4. Fathi

    Fathi Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is to much, you just need a /64 for all your VM and need only to assign a /128 to each VM.
    You can divide your /48 this way: Assign a /64 to each proxmox node and assign /128 to each vm inside the proxmox node. Unless you are a big ISP, you will have plenty of /64 and /128 left.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice