Fujitsu RX300 S7 with FC storage Eternus DX90 S2

krupecek

Nov 19, 2022
Hello,
I'm a beginner in proxmox so maybe I'm doing something wrong or misunderstood.
I have a problem with 2xnodes Fujitsu RX300 S7 with connected 2x Fibre Channel to each node by Emulex Lightpulse to storage Eternus DX90 S2.
I want to do HA cluster - I have on other machine - Dell R620 installed Proxmox - this Dell will be working like a master of this 2xnodes Fujitsu.
In Proxmox on 2xnodes Fujitsu i can see /dev/sdb, /dev/sdc, /dev/sdd , /dev/sde - each connection of Fibre Channel to nodes but i cant add LVM in Proxmox Web Config.
I have in Eternus Dx90 s2 created 2x LUN and i dont know which Host Response need to use(screen).

Attachments

• host_response.PNG
    host_response.PNG
    34.9 KB · Views: 24
You need to create a physical volume on the disks before and then create on top the volume group like it is described here. Although, I'd skip the partition creation, this can lead to read/write amplification if the block size do not match, so in your case:

Code:
pvcreate /dev/mapper/mpatha
pvcreate /dev/mapper/mpathb

then create the diskgroup as described in the linked article.

Reactions: krupecek
Hello all.

I'm currently evaluating various hypervisors as an alternative to vmware. At the moment, the SAN/FC connection to Proxmox is stopping me from putting PM VE on the favorites list. I would have no problem familiarizing myself with configuring multipath on Debian. However, it should be ensured that these adjustments are retained and functional after an upgrade. Is there any official documentation from Proxmox on this topic? Or is an integration into Proxmox planned? Thanks!