First Steps setting-up Proxmox

frankennstein

May 9, 2023
Hello guys,

Last weekend I managed to install and setup my first home server with Proxmox. I have used an a old desktop PC, boosted a bit the memory and succsefully installed Proxmox VE. Everything seems to be working just fine and I am enjoying my setup. However, I may need help for few questions to the more experienced users. I appologize in advance if my post sounds a bit newbie, but this is my first time doing something like that and I am still learning.

Right now I can access my Proxmox from my network, but sometimes I may need to access the server remotely, when I am traveling. My ISP provides me with a public IP address and I managed to forward the port through my router and to access the server and VMs outside my network. But as far as I know, this is not a good practice since I leave a backdoor to my entire network at home. After a quick research I understood that the best way to achieve that is to setup a VPN. I have basically zero experience with VPNs and this is something entirely new to me. Which VPN is best for my purpose? Where to buy it? How to setup it after that, do I need some kind of a VPN client installed on the Proxmox? Most VPN providers that I checked have montly fees between 10-15 USD(not sure if they have Port-Forwarding incl. in the price), is this consider a normal price for such a service or I can get something cheeper? I am not searching for the cheapest solution, but I want to choose the right one.

Is there another way I can achieve the remote access without putting my entire network at risk?

Hello guys,