Fast connection between containers

mackuz

Jun 26, 2016
Russia
Hi.

I'm new to networking, so I'm looking for the right way to configure my LXC containers (Proxmox VE 4.4, one host, several Ubuntu 16.04 LXC containers) for better performance in data transferring between them.

Thanx for any help.

if both containers are on the same bridge and in the same network, they should already be fast
i get ~75GBit/sec between two containers on the same bridge/network

Reactions: mackuz
Thank You!

Here are my /etc/network/interfaces:
on the host
(vmbr0 and vmbr1 are bridges to physical networks, I'm planning to remove them and make a bond with eth0 and eth1
and vmbr2 is completely virtual for interaction between containers):

Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface eth0 inet manual

iface eth1 inet manual

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
    address  172.25.248.100
    netmask  255.255.255.0
    gateway  172.25.248.254
    bridge_ports eth0
    bridge_stp off
    bridge_fd 0
    network 172.25.248.0

auto vmbr1
iface vmbr1 inet static
    address  172.25.248.101
    netmask  255.255.255.0
    gateway  172.25.248.254
    bridge_ports eth1
    bridge_stp off
    bridge_fd 0
    network  172.25.248.0

auto vmbr2
iface vmbr2 inet manual
    bridge_ports none
    bridge_stp off
    bridge_fd 0

post-up echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
        post-up   iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s '10.10.100.0/24' -o vmbr1 -j MASQUERADE
        post-down iptables -t nat -D POSTROUTING -s '10.10.100.0/24' -o vmbr1 -j MASQUERADE
and on one of the containers:
Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
iface lo inet6 loopback

# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)
# Include files from /etc/network/interfaces.d:
source-directory /etc/network/interfaces.d

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
    address 172.25.248.130
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 172.25.248.254
    network 172.25.248.0

auto eth1
iface eth1 inet static
    address 10.10.100.130
    netmask 255.255.255.0