External Audio interface - Cracking / Popping

jhall

Mar 8, 2022
Hello all,

I am a bit new to ProxMox, though I do have experience with other hypervisors. I am a guitar player, and own most all of the suite of software I need to use on an OS that is less than friendly to get working correctly. Thanks to a recent HW death, I was hoping to virtualize said OS for use with my OS compatible audio interfaces, and I can get it to pass through (seemingly) fine, but audio output is terrible. Samples in Logic Pro and Garageband crackle and pop. I have tried setting the bitrate to 44Khz, but that didn't seem to have an effect. I have passed the USB hub to it (internal motherboard hub) and tried setting it for USB3.

agent: 1
args: -device isa-applesmc,osk="*REDACTED*" -smbios t>balloon: 0
bios: ovmf
boot: order=ide0
cores: 4
cpu: Penryn - <---- (Not Sure if this is optimal. Physical rig is a 9900K slotted in a GB Z390 Designaire, which is quite compatible on a bare metal install)
efidisk0: local-lvm:vm-100-disk-1,size=4M
hostpci0: 0000:03:00.0
hostpci1: 0000:01:00,pcie=1,x-vga=1
ide0: local-lvm:vm-100-disk-0,size=64G
machine: q35 - <---- (Also not quite sure if optimal)
memory: 8192
meta: creation-qemu=6.1.1,ctime=1644358421
name: OSXVM
net0: virtio=1A:8E:8D:EF:79:EA,bridge=vmbr0,firewall=1
numa: 1
ostype: other
scsihw: virtio-scsi-pci
smbios1: uuid=fd209bb9-9f72-4780-a3c9-3a9cc44bff89
sockets: 1
usb0: host=1-4,usb3=1 <--- (The current device setup)
usb1: host=05ac:828d,usb3=1
vga: virtio
vmgenid: ac35c7ab-182b-442b-8ec7-e914a90efe05