Direct network connect between 2 VM

cbitconquer

Feb 24, 2020
Hello,

I need to connect 2 virtual machines directly through a "virtual network cable" without using a switch. Is this possible in Proxmox?

Thanks in advance,

C.

Yes this should work:
* create a new bridge on the PVE node (without attaching a physical interface) (e.g. vmbr1)
* add one network interface to each guest, which is connected to this bridge
* configure your IPs inside the guest

I hope this helps!

Reactions: +DS_DV+
Thank you for replying: I forgot to mention that my two guests are in 2 different pve nodes mounted on a cluster

"how do you want to do that without any switch ?" - do you mean "physical switch", attaching a physical network card to a virtual bridge?

"do you have an example with another hypervisor ? " - this is my doubt, if it is possible (I'm a rookie in Proxmox)

Perhaps creating a bond and assigning different VLANS?

>> "how do you want to do that without any switch ?" - do you mean "physical switch", attaching a physical network card to a virtual bridge?

I just comment your first question ;)
"I need to connect 2 virtual machines directly through a "virtual network cable" without using a switch"

>> Perhaps creating a bond and assigning different VLANS?

what is your problem exactly ? do you want to isolate traffic of theses 2 vms from the others vms ?

Thank you for reply:

I have 2 NAS-s into 2 pve nodes(in cluster) and inside those Nas-s with own software want to create a cluster. One of the requisites is to direclty connect those Nas-s between the secondary network adpaters(heartbeat connection)

ok, so it's really depend if you have free physical nic port.

if you have physical nic port, you could use a cross-cable between your 2 nodes,

-then create a vmbrX on each node, and add the vm interface hearbeat on it.

or could also passthrough the physical nic in the vm,instead using the vmbrX, but maybe it's a little bit overkill