Create Test Scenario for PVE boot failure

mw88

Oct 8, 2022
I am working on setting up a homeserver, which is going to mainly serve as a fileserver plus run some virtual machines and containers for home automation, routing, media, etc..

For the files, I have planned and ready a raidz2 with four HDDs and I played around with restoring files and datasets, with loading the pool on different machines, so that I feel I can trust my data to this setup.

However, for the VMs, containers and main PVE config I am using a raidz2 boot pool consisting of four SSDs. In my reasoning, raidz2 is a suitably low risk of having to recover from failure of three disks at once. However, as I am a beginner, I always run the risk of misconfiguration. So I would like to create a test scenario, where I manually render my PVE unbootable and then restore the rpool to an earlier snapshot, before I finally trust the system with all my config and data.

I imagine, that running
Bash:
wipefs -a /dev/sdaX
would be sufficient to render disks unbootable, but what is the procedure to restore it to an earlier snapshot without PVE running?

Also, do you have any suggestions how I would/should test a bootloader failure?

I am working on setting up a homeserver, which is going to mainly serve as a fileserver plus run some virtual machines and containers for home automation, routing, media, etc..

For the files, I have planned and ready a raidz2 with four HDDs and I played around with restoring files and datasets, with loading the pool on different machines, so that I feel I can trust my data to this setup.