corrupted vm

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by ds(ds), Apr 4, 2015.

  1. ds(ds)

    ds(ds) Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have proxmox 3.1, and 6 vm - they all work, but were stopped
    one image is very large, backup with him -error (in this image 255GB, freespace about 2GB) and free space on proxmox disk 150gb from 1Tb
    try to download the image& config file to another proxmox 3.4, and restore but have error (file is corrupted)

    qcow2: Marking image as corrupt: L2 table offset 0x7423498bc54c00 unaligned (L1 index: 0); further corruption events will be suppressed
    kvm: -device ide-hd,bus=ide.0,unit=0,drive=drive-ide0,id=ide0,bootindex=100: Device needs media, but drive is empty
    kvm: -device ide-hd,bus=ide.0,unit=0,drive=drive-ide0,id=ide0,bootindex=100: Device initialization failed.
    kvm: -device ide-hd,bus=ide.0,unit=0,drive=drive-ide0,id=ide0,bootindex=100: Device 'ide-hd' could not be initialized
    TASK ERROR: start failed: command '/usr/bin/kvm -id 103 -chardev 'socket,id=qmp,path=/var/run/qemu-server/103.qmp,server,nowait' -mon 'chardev=qmp,mode=control' -vnc unix:/var/run/qemu-server/103.vnc,x509,password -pidfile /var/run/qemu-server/103.pid -daemonize -name wsus -smp '2,sockets=1,cores=2,maxcpus=2' -nodefaults -boot 'menu=on,strict=on,reboot-timeout=1000' -vga std -no-hpet -cpu 'kvm64,hv_spinlocks=0xffff,hv_relaxed,+lahf_lm,+x2apic,+sep' -m 2048 -k en-us -device 'piix3-usb-uhci,id=uhci,bus=pci.0,addr=0x1.0x2' -device 'usb-tablet,id=tablet,bus=uhci.0,port=1' -device 'virtio-balloon-pci,id=balloon0,bus=pci.0,addr=0x3' -iscsi 'initiator-name=iqn.1993-08.org.debian:01:375170c866b4' -drive 'if=none,id=drive-ide2,media=cdrom,aio=native' -device 'ide-cd,bus=ide.1,unit=0,drive=drive-ide2,id=ide2,bootindex=200' -drive 'file=/var/lib/vz/images/103/vm-103-disk-1.qcow2,if=none,id=drive-ide0,format=qcow2,aio=native,cache=none,detect-zeroes=on' -device 'ide-hd,bus=ide.0,unit=0,drive=drive-ide0,id=ide0,bootindex=100' -netdev 'type=tap,id=net0,ifname=tap103i0,script=/var/lib/qemu-server/pve-bridge,downscript=/var/lib/qemu-server/pve-bridgedown,vhost=on' -device 'virtio-net-pci,mac=6A:22:67:FC:77:9D,netdev=net0,bus=pci.0,addr=0x12,id=net0,bootindex=300' -rtc 'driftfix=slew,base=localtime' -global 'kvm-pit.lost_tick_policy=discard'' failed: exit code 1


    my working vm image is corrupted???


     
  2. udo

    udo Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,845
    Likes Received:
    159
    Hi,
    you can try to convert the qcow2-file in an raw-file with qemu-img.
    (this was the first was I would try).

    Or, if you have an copy, try to repair with "qemu-img check -r"

    See also "man qemu-img"

    Udo

    edit: How do you copy the image-file?
     
  3. ds(ds)

    ds(ds) Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    on proxmox 3.4 (copy from proxmox3.1, copy with help: scp)

    root@wsusproxmox:/var/lib/vz/images/103# qemu-img convert -f qcow2 -O raw vm-103-disk-1.qcow2 103.raw
    qcow2: Image is corrupt: L2 table offset 0x7423498bc54c00 unaligned (L1 index: 0); further non-fatal corruption events will be suppressed
    qemu-img: error while reading block status of sector 0: Input/output error

    root@wsusproxmox:/var/lib/vz/images/103# qemu-img check -f qcow2 vm-103-disk-1.qcow2
    qemu-img: Check failed: Cannot allocate memory
     
  4. udo

    udo Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,845
    Likes Received:
    159
    Hi,
    looks that you don't have enough memory?

    But I'm not an qcow2-expert (I use only raw format).

    Perhaps someone with more qcow2-troubleshoot-experiences can say anything.


    If you mean, that your qcow2-file is different on your old system, you can do an rsync on this file - with the flag "--inplace" you directly update the file on the receiver side.

    Udo
     
  5. ds(ds)

    ds(ds) Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    hm... on proxmox3.4 - 6gb ram.
    from webgui: 5.33gb, used: 418mb...
    only proxmox and one vm...
    how many ram need for check?
     
  6. ds(ds)

    ds(ds) Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    hm... i have problem with original file vm-103-disk-1.qcow2 on proxmox 3.1

    because

    root@proxmox:/var/lib/vz/images/103# qemu-img check -f qcow2 vm-103-disk-1.qcow2
    No errors were found on the image.

    root@proxmox:/var/lib/vz/images/103# qemu-img check -f qcow2 -r all vm-103-disk-1.qcow2
    No errors were found on the image.

    try from proxmox put on ftp №1
    root@proxmox:/var/lib/vz/images/103# ftp 192.168.0.126
    .........
    ftp> put vm-103-disk-1.qcow2
    local: vm-103-disk-1.qcow2 remote: vm-103-disk-1.qcow2
    200 Port command successful
    150 Opening data channel for file transfer.
    local: vm-103-disk-1.qcow2: Input/output error
    226 Transfer OK
    2914663172 bytes sent in 89.19 secs (31912.2 kB/s)

    try from proxmox put on ftp №2
    root@proxmox:/var/lib/vz/images/103# ftp 192.168.0.6
    ......
    200 Port command successful
    150 Opening data channel for file transfer.
    local: vm-103-disk-1.qcow2: Input/output error
    226 Transfer OK
    2914663172 bytes sent in 83.64 secs (34031.3 kB/s)

    where is problem???
     
  7. mir

    mir Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    97
    Try using rsync instead of ftp. If you absolutely must use ftp then ensure that the file transfer is using binary mode. Default mode for ftp is ascii mode. Maybe this is were you problems are?
     
  8. ds(ds)

    ds(ds) Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    ftp server....filezilla 0.9.41 beta (pc№1)
    ftp> binary
    200 Type set to I
    ftp> put vm-103-disk-1.qcow2
    local: vm-103-disk-1.qcow2 remote: vm-103-disk-1.qcow2
    200 Port command successful
    150 Opening data channel for file transfer.
    local: vm-103-disk-1.qcow2: Input/output error
    226 Transfer OK
    2895507456 bytes sent in 66.03 secs (42821.7 kB/s)

    ftp server....filezilla 0.9.50 beta (pc№2)
    ftp> open 192.168.0.126
    Connected to 192.168.0.126.
    220-FileZilla Server version 0.9.50 beta
    ftp> binary
    200 Type set to I
    ftp> put vm-103-disk-1.qcow2
    local: vm-103-disk-1.qcow2 remote: vm-103-disk-1.qcow2
    200 Port command successful
    150 Opening data channel for file upload to server of "/vm-103-disk-1.qcow2"
    local: vm-103-disk-1.qcow2: Input/output error
    226 Successfully transferred "/vm-103-disk-1.qcow2"
    2895507456 bytes sent in 61.18 secs (46218.3 kB/s)

    tommorow: rsync - last hope?
     
  9. udo

    udo Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    5,845
    Likes Received:
    159
    Hi,
    if your file isn't blocked due an running process (fuser vm-103-disk-1.qcow2) you local filesystem is corrupt!!

    Do you have backups? Is the filesystem protected by an raid-level?
    Any bad symtoms if you checked the smart-status of the disks?
    Any hint in the syslog?

    Try an fsck!

    Udo
     
  10. ds(ds)

    ds(ds) Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    do smartctl --test=long ... weit result...
    close it... hdd has problem
     
    #10 ds(ds), Apr 7, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2015
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice