Choose MAC/LAN-Port at setup

zeropage

Feb 6, 2022
I am new to PVE and would like to install it on my barebone PC Shuttle DS10U. The device has two LAN ports and - as usual - with one MAC address each. But during the setup of Proxmox is always displayed only one MAC address. Even when the LAN cable is plugged into the port of the other. This is a problem especially with DHCP static lease.

Example:

Port 1: xx.xx.xx.xx.3f (connected to switch VLAN port).
Port 2: xx.xx.xx.xx.40

During setup, xx.xx.xx.xx.40 is always displayed and also transmitted to the DHCP server. Only the name is once "eno1" and the other time "enps0". I do not understand this at all. Could someone please explain this to me?

Thanks und advance.

First idea that came to my mind was, that the second one is just IPMI or something, but from the specsheet it seems, that these are not two fully independent ports anyway:
1) Intel i211 Ethernet Controller mit MAC, PHY und PCIe-Schnittstelle
2) Intel i219LM PHY verbunden mit dem MAC des Prozessors
Maybe it can be configured as such, maybe not. Check BIOS Settings if it can be configured or the manual how to do that (if possible at all).

Two interfaces are displayed in the BIOS, both can be enabled or disabled. In the meantime I tried to install Debian instead of Proxmox on the barebone PC. During the installation I am asked for a device driver. This should be a driver for the Realtek LAN interface.

I then did not pursue this further because I would have to make another USB stick with the driver. Proxmox did not ask me for such a driver during setup. I will use it without a second network interface for now.

My concern was that I had a hardware problem. Now I am a little reassured.

Last edited:
This should be a driver for the Realtek LAN interface.
Realtek should be the wifi device, the both ports are wired to the intel chip. Some googleing around did not give any more info.