Ceph SSD Cache for HDD Array. Which pool do I add to proxmox? SSD or HDD

apap

Apr 18, 2021
I am a beginner to proxmox and ceph. Currently in the middle of testing for deployment to a production environment.

What I've done (hopefully to help others puzzling over the same issue as well as to verify that my work is correct):

1. Install PVE and Activate CEPH

2. Added 2 x SSD drives (osd.0 & 1) and 2 x HDD (osd.2 & 3)

3. Added replication rule (I only have 1 node so failure-domain is osd (raid on local host)):
a. ceph osd crush rule create-replicated ssd_localraid default osd ssd​
b. ceph osd crush rule create-replicated hdd_localraid default osd hdd​
format: ceph osd crush rule create-replicated <rule-name> <root> <failure-domain: "osd" is local raid, "host" is mirroring data across different hosts> <class of storage>

4. Created "ssd_cache" pool using "ssd_localraid" crush rule, and "hdd_store" pool using "hdd_localraid" crush rule. I did not automatically add these two pools as proxmox storage, I figure I will do this manually later.

5. Activated "ssd_cache" pool as cache for "hdd_store" pool by the following commands:
a. ceph osd tier add hdd_store ssd_cache​
b. ceph osd tier cache-mode ssd_cache writeback​
c. ceph osd tier set-overlay hdd_store ssd_cache​
6. Now I am stumped. For the next step, which is adding the pool as the VM storage in proxmox, which pool do I add? The "hdd_store" pool or the "ssd_cache" pool?

My confusion stems from the last step in 5c which in the cache tiering documentation states "The cache tiers overlay the backing storage tier, so they require one additional step: you must direct all client traffic from the storage pool to the cache pool." Common sense dictates that the hdd_pool should be added as storage but the fact that the ssd_cache is overlaying the hdd_pool introduces an uncertainty which pool should be added to proxmox.