Cannot Create LVM on iSCSI storage

mbartho

Jan 5, 2021
I set up a new instance of TrueNas 12 Core. I am attempting to setup iscsi storage to TrueNas in Proxmox. The vdev was created in TrueNas along with the iscsi target. I have created the iscsi connection in proxmox and it is showing as available but receive the following error when I attempt to create the LVM storage in proxmox.

create storage failed: error during cfs-locked 'file-storage_cfg' operation: command '/sbin/pvs --separator : --noheadings --units k --unbuffered --nosuffix --options pv_name,pv_size,vg_name,pv_uuid /dev/disk/by-id/scsi-36589cfc000000fbe2029fe2d7139fde7' failed: exit code 5 (500)

Can someone tell me exactly what this error means and possibly how to resolve the problem? I have basic knowledge on how to set things up but I'm not familiar with how to troubleshoot issues when things do not go as planned. Hopefully, I can make this a learning experience.

Thanks in advance!

did you add the iscsi target via the PVE GUI? (if yes please share your /etc/pve/storage.cfg)

any relevant messages from iscsiadm or the kernel on the PVE-node? (`journalctl -b` gives you the logs since the last boot)

the output of `lsblk`, `pvs`, `vgs` could also provide some hints

I hope this helps!

I was also getting this error when trying to add LVM on iSCSI target. I was using a drobo iscsi that had 2 ips (redundant paths). If i unplugged the LAN side (the other is directly attached to my PVE host) the notice changed to a "cannot find device" error. The trick (for me) was configuring multipath following this article: https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/ISCSI_Multipath