Any way to make proxmox check if ACME cert renewal needed on startup?

lriley06

Aug 17, 2024
I am using my selfhosted smallstep server to issue certificates for everything in my homelab. By design, the certificates are short-lived (only 24 hours). I have managed to request the certificate just fine via proxmox, and the auto renewal process seems to work fine.

However, when the proxmox node is first started up after a few days of being powered off, the certificate is (of course) invalid. It seems that proxmox does not check to see if the certificate is invalid when it boots up, meaning that it has to wait for the daily cronjob to run again and then renew the certificate (could take multiple hours!). My current workaround is just disabling the browser security warnings and manually renewing the certificates, although this obviously isn't ideal!

Is there anything that I could do to change this? I'm quite new to proxmox but if anyone thinks it would be worth submitting a feature request for this then I could maybe do that?

Thanks in advance!

You are talking about cronjob, so could you add a "@reboot" cronjob to execute just after reboot?

Systemd timers have similar possibility to run the task after reboot.

I was thinking along these lines too! Only downside is I would prefer to avoid modifying things under the hood and creating a non-standard environment at this stage! I guess this is all the developers would change anyway though, so I might make a PR with these changes once I’ve worked it out!

So how does this coincide with:

Who setup that cronjob?

I'm not familiar with smallstep, so maybe I'm missing something here.
My mistake, I somehow remembered reading a docs page saying that the built in ACME certificate auto update was handled by a cron job! However, it clearly says " the certificate will be automatically renewed by the pve-daily-update.service"!

Reactions: gfngfn256