alpine container image terminal incorrect, text editors unusable

inbouto

Mar 1, 2020
Hi.
When I tried to setup an alpine container, I couldn't use nano or vim and would receive an error regarding the $TERM variable. Its value was "vt[container#]"
I'm not a linux expert by any means, but when I tried using the latest debian container instead, the $TERM value was just "linux". So I went back in the alpine container and changed the $TERM variable to "linux" and it worked just fine.
I don't know what exactly happened but I'm under the impression that something was wrong with the alpine image. Hopefully this post is helpful.

Hi,

Vim is not install by default you need to install it but you can use /# vi as well :)

Also you can install nano with command: apk add nano

hi,

i can reproduce this issue as well.

i'll take a look at let you know

@matrix
my point is that, after installing nano or vim, the app fails to start (in the case of nano) or does not run correctly (vim).

Hi,

- What the error output when you type nano in terminal?
- See the PATH if correct path echo $PATH it should be like /usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin if not correct, just add it to your PATH like this command
Bash:
export PATH=$PATH:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin

@matrix
the $PATH is correct. That's not the issue.
The issue, like I said, is the $TERM variable.
The error I get when opening nano is
"Error opening terminal: vt102."
this is on CT #102.
Like I said, my workaround is to change the $TERM variable to "linux", since that's what it's set to on the debian container.

it seems like the $TERM variable is set correctly in /var/lib/lxc/CTID/config with the lxc.environment parameter, however the alpine container seems to ignore this (cause is yet unclear)

a workaround until this gets fixed is to simply set the $TERM variable manually in .bashrc or similar file

I can confirm this behavior.