[SOLVED] How to recuperate the VM files after a Proxmox reinstallation

titust11

Nov 18, 2021
I had to reinstall Proxmox because for some reason it stopped booting.
The VM files were installed in a dedicated nvme drive mounted on a directory called VM_Repository.
The nvme containing the VMs was not destroyed, just Proxmos was reinstalled. I can see the nvme drive in Disks.
However I am not able to recreate the directory, to remount the ext4 formatted nvme, in order to recuperate my VM files.
I was pretty sure to be able to do this very simple thing in the GUI pve / Directory / Create directory and select the nvme.
Unfortunately the nvme does not show up in there. I'm pretty sure it can be done in the shell, but I'm not an expert. For sure I can dig and find a solution, but preferred the faster method of asking the community.
Thanks

Do you got backups of your /etc/pve that was on your system disk? Because without it and the VM/LXC config files in it you won't be able to do much with those virtual disks in that NVMe.

First I would add a line to /etc/fstab to mount the ext4 partition on that NVMe SSD. Then you can go to "Datacenter -> Storage -> Add -> Diectory" to create a directory storage pointing to the mountpoint of the ext4 partition.

No backups. For now, for me this is just a practice environment at my home. I'm retired IT guy, Solaris, Windows, sysadmin, worked with Vmware and Hyper-V.
Because without it and the VM/LXC config files in it you won't be able to do much with those virtual disks in that NVMe.
I admit I'm new and learning Proxmox, but if this is not possible, Proxmox is far behind. The config of a VM is just a bunch of parameters, CPU, Memory, Disk, OS, etc... These can be manually recreated as long as you have the intact virtual disks of the VM, right? theoretically. Then why is this not possible in Proxmox? I've done this dozens of time on other virtualization platforms
--------------------