pass drives through for TrueNAS or not

magnethead

Jul 9, 2021
Hi there,
I am new to Proxmox, first post here.
I was wondering if you could point me in the right direction, I have a good machine i9, 64Gig of RAM. I have 4 ssd's in a Z2 array to hold my VM's...and 2 8Gig mechanical drives for my NAS. I'm hosting TrueNAS as a VM and passing the 2 8Gig drives through as a mirror for TrueNAS.
Is this the right way to do it, or should I just make ZFS pool in Proxmox and give that to FreeNAS instead of passing through the drives (I'm just guessing passing through the drives would be faster access)?

I plan to host a heap of VM's and I guess that NAS space will be used for plex movies, etc...

Thanks for any replies.

Hi there,
I am new to Proxmox, first post here.
I was wondering if you could point me in the right direction, I have a good machine i9, 64Gig of RAM. I have 4 ssd's in a Z2 array to hold my VM's...and 2 8Gig mechanical drives for my NAS. I'm hosting TrueNAS as a VM and passing the 2 8Gig drives through as a mirror for TrueNAS.
Is this the right way to do it, or should I just make ZFS pool in Proxmox and give that to FreeNAS instead of passing through the drives (I'm just guessing passing through the drives would be faster access)?

I plan to host a heap of VM's and I guess that NAS space will be used for plex movies, etc...

Thanks for any replies.
You can't bind-mount anything from the host to a VM so there is no way to directly access a hosts ZFS pool from inside a TrueNAS VM.
And "qm set" passthrough isn't real passthrough. That way you are still working with virtual disks because there is virtio between your VM and physical drives causing overhead.
If you want no overhead you need to PCI passthrough a HBA with all its ports and drives attached to it into your VM. That way your VM could directly and physically access the drives.