[SOLVED] Wireguard in LXC (Debian 10)

PaulePils

Jan 11, 2021
Hello,

I am new to the pve world and until now I had no problems or could find a solution somewhere.

After several tutorials and other forum post I still can't get wireguard to work. I try to run it in a LXC with Debian 10. My problem is with the kernel headers. The weird part is that it worked when I started this setup several months ago. I haven't used the vpn in a while but after some months and updates it stopped working when I really needed it...

Output of the host
Code:
uname -a
Linux atwserver 5.4.78-2-pve #1 SMP PVE 5.4.78-2 (Thu, 03 Dec 2020 14:26:17 +0100) x86_64 GNU/Linux
In the LXC
Code:
uname -a
Linux phWG 5.4.78-2-pve #1 SMP PVE 5.4.78-2 (Thu, 03 Dec 2020 14:26:17 +0100) x86_64 GNU/Linux

Host:
Code:
dkms status 
wireguard, 1.0.20201112, 5.4.78-2-pve, x86_64: installed

LXC:
Code:
dkms status 
wireguard, 1.0.20201221, 4.19.0-13-amd64, x86_64: installed
There seems to be a problem with the dkms. Obviously the kernel in the LXC is wrong but i can't change it.

dkms autoinstall shows following output in the LXC
Code:
Error! Your kernel headers for kernel 5.4.78-2-pve cannot be found.
Please install the linux-headers-5.4.78-2-pve package,
or use the --kernelsourcedir option to tell DKMS where it's located

Code:
modprobe wireguard
modprobe: ERROR: ../libkmod/libkmod.c:586 kmod_search_moddep() could not open moddep file '/lib/modules/5.4.78-2-pve/modules.dep.bin'
modprobe: FATAL: Module wireguard not found in directory /lib/modules/5.4.78-2-pve

Has anybody an idea how to fix this?

Greetings

You need to install the module on the host, not in the lxc. Example: https://nixvsevil.com/posts/wireguard-in-proxmox-lxc/
This did the trick!!! Thank you!

Also, I found the root of my problem:
I wanted the installation of wireguard to be easy so I used the PiVPN script. During re-install I saw that the script configured the wrong kernel in the LXC. With the manual install it worked like a charm.